Butterscotch Blondies

Working full time, keeping up a blog full-time, and attempting to have a social life in the midst of that all can, as you probably guessed, be extremely busy and not leave much room for relaxation. My few hours of unwinding occurs after I get home no earlier than 7pm following a good sweat session at the gym. Then I have to do all the adult things before I can finally plop myself on my couch and watch an hour or two of TV before I am totally wiped for the day and realize I’ve fallen asleep with all the lights on, episodes of The Office or Parks and Rec still streaming in the background.

So when the perfect Sunday presents itself where I have no baby showers to attend, no family members to grace with my presence, and absolutely no adulting to be done, I fully take advantage. And to me, that means baking. Whatever free time I have, I love to try new recipes. Baking to me has always been the perfect stress reliever. And when I’m sitting on the couch all day, my body definitely starts craving something sweet and decadent to make my relaxation that much better.

I wanted to create something this time that didn’t require much prep work; less prep work also meant less clean-up afterwards, which I was all about. I can only cram so much into my dishwasher.

I checked my cabinet and saw that I had butterscotch chips. A light bulb went off. Butterscotch blondies! For those who don’t know, a blondie is the vanilla counterpart of a brownie. Same gooey and cake-like consistency as a brownie but often incorporating sweeter, lighter flavors than chocolate.

My butterscotch blondie recipe consisted of 7 ingredients. You can’t get much simpler than that. The only ingredient I had to wait to come to room temperature was the egg (the butter was going to be melted. Woo hoo!)

ingredients

I gathered all my ingredients on the counter and got to work, preheating the oven to 350F first and foremost.

As I melted the butter, I whisked the room temperature egg and vanilla together. I measured my flour and salt in one bowl and my brown sugar, packed tightly, in another bowl. Once the butter had cooled, I added it to the sugar. Initially, the batter looked like a clumpy mess. Don’t freak out. Once you add the egg and vanilla mixture, it emulsifies nicely.

chunky-mix
Before you add the egg

 

brown-sugar-and-eggs
After you add the egg

Next, add the flour and salt, stirring (not whisking) together until a smooth batter is formed. Finally, fold in the butterscotch chips, spread into a pan, and bake for 25 minutes.

 

pre-flour-mix
What your final batter should look like after adding flour

 

Something to note: Baking time may vary depending on your oven and the type of pan you use. I used glass, which always takes longer to heat up, so my batter took an extra ten minutes to finish. Just keep watching it. If you touch the top of the blondies and it springs back slightly, they are done. Keep in mind that this particular recipe makes more of a gooey blondie, so it might seem like it’s not done but once the edges brown and are pulling away from the sides of your pan, and a knife inserted comes out mostly clean, take them out. They will continue to cook a little bit while cooling.

pre-bake

See! Super easy recipe. I didn’t even have to get my mixer out for this one. Everything was done by hand with two bowls and a saucepan. And it all took less than an hour to prepare and bake.

If you noticed, this recipe also does not use leaveners. Leaveners, in addition to a mixer, incorporate too much air which would cause the blondies to rise and loose that fudgy, dense texture.

An ooey, gooey, sweet buttery flavor with a slight chewy edge made for the perfect Sunday treat. Store in an airtight container and bring to work to next day to have all your employees love you for making Monday enjoyable. Who doesn’t love dessert for breakfast!

Find the recipe below:

brownies-2

 

BUTTERSCOTCH BLONDIES

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar, packed

1 large egg, room temperature

1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon coarse salt (I used natural sea salt)

1 cup butterscotch chips

 

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Melt the butter. Remove from heat and let it cool.
  3. While the butter is cooling, whisk the egg and vanilla together in small bowl.
  4. Once the butter has cooled completely, mix in the sugar with a large spatula or wooden spoon.
  5. Add in the egg and vanilla mixture.
  6. Mix in the flour and salt.
  7. Fold in the butterscotch chips.
  8. Bake for 25-30 minutes for until the top is set and the edges start to brown and pull away from the pan.
  9. For easier cutting, place in the freezer for 5-10 minutes to set and cool.
Leave a Reply

